The Kingdom of Swaziland is a Monarchy ruled by His Majesty King Mswati III, who ascended to the throne on the 25th April 1986. Both the country’s political and legal system can be described as dual in that they feature the simultaneous operation of traditional institutions and western methods of modern governance in terms of Democracy and Roman Dutch common Law.

The Constitution

The Constitution is the supreme law of the land. The Constitution of Swaziland Act No.001/2005 came into force on 26 July 2005.  

The Organs of Government

The Constitution provides for Three organs or arms of government; the Executive, a bicameral Legislature and the Judiciary. Each of these organs is independent from other arms.

The Electoral System

Swaziland practices a Tinkhundla–based electoral system of government. The Tinkhundla system is a democratic participatory system which emphasizes devolution of power from central government to Tinkhundla (constituencies) areas and individual merit as a basis for election or appointment to public office.

  • Political System (Tinkhundla System of Governance)
  • Executive (Government)
  • Judiciary
  • Legislature
Updated: September 9, 2015 — 12:03 pm
King of Swaziland, His Majesty King Mswati III © 2017